AMiLDA FORUM

You are not logged in.

Announcement

### Our Homepage is down at the moment...work in progress !! ###

#1 2007-08-05 10:40:16

janrovner
New member
Registered: 2007-08-05
Last visit: 2007-08-05
Posts: 1

UART OK for Bootloader, NOT for Linux - me too !!!

Hello, I have the same problem with serial console as user Misterke.

I have tried several distributions (Midge/Vlad, AMiLDA, ValXDater) distributions and afer booting linux, I see only garbage.
My serial cable and setup is FINE, Bootloader displays OK and I am able to upload new firmwares.
However, when i blindly type "reboot" + ENTER into the console, the device reboots - the linux inside "understands me" and the device reboots.

HOWEVER: this - http://www.student.tue.nl/Q/t.f.a.wilms … 050809.img 2.6.12 based
image WORKS PERFECTLY, that confirms only that my serial cable is OK.

It looks like the UART chip when the 2.4.xx linux is booted is configured FOR DIFFERENT SPEEDS on TX/RX LINE

Is it possible?

Thanks
Jan

Offline

 

#2 2008-04-05 21:11:02

CopperCAT
New member
Registered: 2008-04-05
Last visit: 2008-06-18
Posts: 3

Re: UART OK for Bootloader, NOT for Linux - me too !!!

I have exactly the same problem  sad Did you find a solution yet?

Offline

 

#3 2008-04-06 13:39:00

CopperCAT
New member
Registered: 2008-04-05
Last visit: 2008-06-18
Posts: 3

Re: UART OK for Bootloader, NOT for Linux - me too !!!

Below is a screenshot of what I see with the default Edimax 6104KP firmware. This also happens with Amilda. I was able to upload Amilda via the console, but not anymore. The XMODEM transfer gets stuck after 2-3 packets.
Interesting is also that I could enter login into Amilda and issue a successfull "reboot" command neutral

http://users.skynet.be/klaasdc/teraterm.png

Offline

 

#4 2008-04-09 08:53:31

MrZack
Administrator
Austria
Registered: 2006-02-15
Last visit: 2017-10-23
Posts: 106

Re: UART OK for Bootloader, NOT for Linux - me too !!!

That's a very interesting problem you got there....hmmm hmm
Do you have the possibility to test your RS232 cable on some other Router?
That way we can say for sure that your cable is ok and concentrate on your router.


Nothing is impossible....except that the state of your mind makes it so.

Offline

 

#5 2008-04-12 10:08:15

CopperCAT
New member
Registered: 2008-04-05
Last visit: 2008-06-18
Posts: 3

Re: UART OK for Bootloader, NOT for Linux - me too !!!

MrZack wrote:

That's a very interesting problem you got there....hmmm hmm
Do you have the possibility to test your RS232 cable on some other Router?
That way we can say for sure that your cable is ok and concentrate on your router.

No, I don't have any other router. But I've connected the 3.3V level Rx and Tx pins together, and I get a perfect echo on my terminal.

Also, I am using a MAX220, which is exactly the same as the 232, it is designated as "ultra low power". Maybe I should try a real MAX232, but I haven't found one yet.

Offline

 

Board footer

Powered by PunBB
© Copyright 2002–2008 PunBB