AMiLDA FORUM

You are not logged in.

Announcement

### Our Homepage is down at the moment...work in progress !! ###

#1 2007-05-14 21:11:22

jimbolaya
New member
Registered: 2007-05-14
Last visit: 2007-12-27
Posts: 3

Inno-Tide NU100

Hi,

I've got an InnoTide NU100 (sold by CompUSA) that is based on the ADM5120.  This isn't really a router/switch, but is more like a storage/print server.  It's based on Linux, but InnoTide never published it's sources (shame on them!).  I e-mailed them and they said, talk to your distributor.  Bla bla bla.

Has anyone tried AMiLDA on these?  Is this even an appropriate distribution to try with these boxes?  I'm mostly interested in this because the SAMBA on the NU100 causes my home machine's smbclient/smbmount to core.  It's quite annoying.

James

Offline

 

#2 2007-05-15 17:47:08

br_6104k
New member
Registered: 2006-12-20
Last visit: 2007-09-06
Posts: 4

Re: Inno-Tide NU100

Hmm, the best practice is reverse engineering of the original firmware, if available.
I've took a look on InnoTide's site, but its down hmm.

Extract kernel, initial ramdisk. Mount ramdisk - then you know all about original software,
run strings on kernel image - search for kernel version etc.
Then you can try openwrt, it all depends on your skills :-).

Another good way is to connect serial console to this device, and see bootlog.
Maybe you can even login to this box smile

Offline

 

#3 2007-06-15 18:30:45

jimbolaya
New member
Registered: 2007-05-14
Last visit: 2007-12-27
Posts: 3

Re: Inno-Tide NU100

I think someone did connect to the serial port with no success at logging in.  That's on my list.  The problem I have is that it's hosting a couple printers.  There's also an attached storage box, but it doesn't get much used since the only access is through ftp or samba.  Unfortunately, the Samba they used causes any modern version of smbclient or smbmount to segfault.

Can anyone help me reverse engineer the firmware?  I've figured out a few things, but I'm pretty raw at this sort of thing.

james

Offline

 

#4 2007-12-27 21:05:06

jimbolaya
New member
Registered: 2007-05-14
Last visit: 2007-12-27
Posts: 3

Re: Inno-Tide NU100

I can provide a copy of two versions of the firmware I'm working with if that would be helpful.  I'd also be happy to provide what I've found so far.

James

Offline

 

#5 2010-08-11 08:45:12

rickyjon
New member
Registered: 2010-08-11
Last visit: 2010-08-11
Posts: 1

Re: Inno-Tide NU100

I have tried to use AMiLDA on InnoTide NU100...But it is quite problematic..

I think  InnoTide doesn't publish its sources due to its privacy...

Hope I will fix this problem...


Ricky jon

Offline

 

Board footer

Powered by PunBB
© Copyright 2002–2008 PunBB